Books of The Bible in Chronological Order

By lan Warner

The Bible was laid out in the way that the Holy Spirit deemed is best to lay the book out—knowing the books of the Bible in chronological order can still be helpful. We are hard-wired to want to know what happens first and go through stories with a linear progression.

It would be nice to read about King David's rise and fall and then read his thoughts right after in the Psalms. Romans is an essential book of the Bible, but it happens much later than many epistles.

Books of The Bible In Chonological Order

  1. Genesis
  2. Job
  3. Exodus
  4. Leviticus
  5. Numbers
  6. Deuteronomy
  7. Joshua
  8. Judges
  9. Ruth
  10. 1 Samuel
  11. 1 Chronicles
  12. Psalms
  13. 2 Samuel
  14. 1 Kings
  15. 2 Chronicles 
  16. Proverbs
  17. Song of Songs
  18. Ecclesiastes
  19. 2 Kings
  20. Joel
  21. Jonah 
  22. Hosea
  23. Amos
  24. Isaiah
  25. Micah
  26. Zephaniah
  27. Jeremiah
  28. Nahum 
  29. Habakkuk
  30. Daniel
  31. Ezekiel 
  32. Lamentations 
  33. Obediah
  34. Ezra
  35. Haggai
  36. Zechariah
  37. Esther 
  38. Nehemiah 
  39. Malachi 
  40. Mark 
  41. Matthew
  42. Luke
  43. John
  44. Acts
  45. Galatians
  46. James
  47. 1 Thessalonians
  48. 2 Thessalonians
  49. 1 Corinthians
  50. 2 Corinthians
  51. Romans
  52. Ephesians
  53. Colossians
  54. Philippians
  55. Philemon
  56. 1 Timothy
  57. Titus 
  58. 2 Timothy
  59. 1 Peter
  60. Jude 
  61. 2 Peter
  62. Hebrews
  63. 2 John
  64. 3 John
  65. 1 John
  66. Revelation

Why isn't the Bible Laid Out Chronologically

The Bible is a collection of Books in one Books. Many different authors were inspired by the Holy Spirit to write these books. Early on, except Job, the books written by Moses from Genesis to Deuteronomy were all in order. 

The theme throughout scripture is that books of the same literary type are all group together. 

  • Books of Moses
  • History Books 
  • Wisdom Books
  • Prophets
  • The Gospels
  • The Epistles 
  • Final Prophecy 

Remember - The Bible is One Story 

The most important thing to remember when reading the Bible is that the whole book is one story. The Bible is made so that each verse is connected and able to stand on its own. You can read one book and take a lot away but when you more books you make more connections as you go.

All of the books, chapters, and verses can make the Bible seem like a tonne of different pieces, but it's all just one story about God and his love for his people. 

When you read the book from front to back or read through it in chronological order, it's easier to see how it is one huge story.

Books of The Bible in Chronological Order

lan Warner

About the author

Ian Warner is a believer, husband, and father of three. He grew up running track in Toronto before earning a scholarship to Iowa State University. At Iowa State, he became an All-American and made the 2012 Olympic team. He currently helps people to build better habits and follow Jesus Christ.

Commit Your Life to Spreading  The

Good News of Jesus Christ Today!